Refuse to be Passive

Confession

In Life in General on October 7, 2010 at 4:10 pm

I must confess that lately I’ve been less than inspired to write. Sadly, that punishes those of you who enjoy reading my blog. Life’s been busy and at the end of the day, I’m tuckered and writing is about the last thing I want to do. Thus, I’ve made room for it in my afternoon today, while listening to the soothing sounds of Jack Johnson coming through my computer speakers. I’m down to the dregs on my coffee, but that’s probably a good thing if I want to sleep tonight.

So, what exciting topic should I handle today? How about the fact that it’s October and a balmy 20 degrees and sunny outside. I am glad for an Indian Summer, even if the first frosts and wind have already taken the leaves from the trees. I ate lunch outside today, walked to work this morning, and fully intend on taking advantage of this great weather until it gives way to the whirling snow. This day has been delightful, with a pumpkin spice latte in the morning, thanks to my boss, it has truly felt like autumn. I would like to point out that if you’re getting a pumpkin spice latte from Starbucks, always order if half-sweet and made with soy– it’s not so creamy and cloying that way. Although, if that’s how you like your latte, be my guest. And within the next couple of weeks I’ll undoubtedly have another until it is replaced with some minty, chocolaty concoction cooked up for  Christmas.

Thanksgiving is nearly upon us for those who live north of the 49th parallel, and even south of it if you live in certain parts of Ontario. So what are your plans? Now when I think of Thanksgiving I can’t help but think back to my time this summer in Vancouver when I was hanging with a couple of Aussies who saw a t-shirt with a cornucopia on it and couldn’t figure out what it was. I said something stupid like, “Didn’t you grown up with colouring pictures of them in school around Thanksgiving?” Right. Aussies. No Thanksgiving. Brilliant. It’s amazing how conditioned we become to our culture and it’s holidays.

I am looking forward to the long weekend though. I’ll be attending a co-worker’s wedding, which should be fun– he’s a pretty cool guy and his fiance is fun as well. Although, as a rule of thumb, I don’t actually like attending weddings. This will be my second this year, which is a record for me. In the past my friends always seemed to get married when I couldn’t be there. My friends out east– Ontario, Maritimes, Vermont– always got married when I was out west– Alberta– and vice versa.  However, the wedding I’ve already gone to this year was great fun and a good chance to catch up with some friends I haven’t seen in years. Maybe this one will be equally, or even more entertaining.  It’s bound to have great music, as my co-worker has the best taste in music, and is a drummer to boot.

I know this post was a little newsy and didn’t really handle any concepts that tick me off or make me happy, but maybe the next one will. Keep fit and have fun!

Leave a Reply

