Refuse to be Passive

Play from your Sweet Spot

In Life in General on October 5, 2010 at 3:57 pm

You’ve heard it said that rather than focusing on what you’re weak at, you should play to your strengths. Or, to use a sports analogy, play from your sweet spot. Find what you’re good at, and then do it absurdly well. I’ve been thinking about that concept lately and it’s got me thinking. What are my strengths? Where is my sweet spot? The truth of the matter is that usually our strengths come to us so easily that we fail to recognize them as something special. And then, equally challenging, how can I put them to use in my everyday life? So I’ve been thinking lately about my strengths, and  I’m having more than a bit of a problem coming up with anything that I would consider a strength. I’m not particularly adept at public speaking, I’m not a natural leader, I’m not absurdly good with computers or working with my hands. I’m not an overly social person, but I’m not withdrawn either. Where are my strengths? They’re hidden, that’s where they are. They’re so well hidden even I can’t find them. Dang it, I misplace stuff all the time– first my gray cable knit sweater, and now my strengths.

  1. And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.
    2 Corinthians 12:9

Leave a Reply

