Refuse to be Passive

Boredom by Choice

In Life in General on September 21, 2010 at 10:52 am

Have you ever had one of those work days that just seems to last forever? It was only 10:30, but it felt like noon, or maybe 2. Everything today was a waiting game. My boss was sick, so I couldn’t get her to sign off on some papers I needed. My meeting with a co-worker on a project wasn’t until Wednesday, so I was stalled on that one. I’ve caught up on all my paperwork from the beginning of school frenzy, and had no appointments written into my calendar. What could I do? I stared at my computer screen for a few minutes before getting up to grab myself another cup of tea. I mused a little bit longer. Well, maybe I could update some PowerPoint presentations and some written strategies for the upcoming year. While not thrilling, at least it would keep me busy. And then there were some policies to be updated that I’d been procrastinating on…. Okay, apparently there was stuff to do, albeit not terribly fun. That’s one of the things about my job, and anyone who has followed my posts for any amount of time will know this, my job varies from crazy busy to dead, and rarely anything in between. Eventually I decided to work on ideas for the Employee United Way Campaign, that I’m on the committee for. And as for the rest of it, that would soon follow. I could always procrastinate later.

Leave a Reply

