Refuse to be Passive

When did I…

In Uncategorized on September 20, 2010 at 12:47 pm

When did I grow up? I looked in the mirror this morning and no longer saw the awkward teen of yesteryear, no longer saw the young adult in university who lives her life in jeans and a hoodie. Instead, I saw a woman. Not a girl, a woman. Someone with her hair and makeup done, dressed in business casual attire. She looked like she had it all together. Where did she come from?
Now, I will be the first to admit that my dress and my actions do not always match. I can be silly and immature with the best of them. I remember being fifteen though, and thinking that 25 was old. I thought of where I’d be and what I’d look like. In typical ‘me’ fashion, I was wrong on both counts. At the same time, I must admit that I’m happy with where I found myself today. I’d just went for a swim, was heading to work, and felt pretty darn good about life. The person I saw in the mirror is taking continuing education courses, playing volleyball, going out with friends, volunteering at church, and has a life that, while not filled with glamour or fame, is pretty good.
Getting here has been a series of small steps, so incremental that I haven’t even noticed them leading anywhere. And these small steps will continue to shape me into the future. But for now, I’ll bask in the present and be thankful for this life I live.

Leave a Reply

