Refuse to be Passive

Last Days

In Life in General on August 19, 2010 at 12:42 pm

The yellow air hangs thick over Edmonton. I step out the door to deposit some letters in the mailbox and I’m assaulted by the smell of smoke. Thankfully I don’t have respiratory problems, or I’d probably have a coughing fit. Apparently the fires in BC have decided to send us their smoke. I’m just thankful that I don’t have to worry about needing to evacuate my office, home, or city. A co-worker comments to me that after Haiti, bad things seem to be happening on a larger scale more frequently. I commented that maybe we just notice it more now. Maybe our news services now keep us in touch with things that happened before, but we never heard about. She commented that we’d had excellent news coverage for at least the past twenty years. Well, maybe it’s the last days, and we won’t need to be worried about living on the earth much longer, came my response. Apparently that’s what’s been floating around in her mind as well. Then the question poses itself, “Am I ready for the last days?” Not as in, do I long for them, rather, would the end of things as we know it fill me with dread or regret for things undone?

Leave a Reply

