Refuse to be Passive

The Swarm

In Life in General on August 9, 2010 at 3:38 pm

This morning I got up, put on jeans, rubber boots, and a jacket. I zipped up the coat and flopped on the hood. I grabbed a pair of heavy duty gloves and headed out. The weather was a balmy 16 degrees, and there were fluffy white clouds in the sky. Why then was I dressed so? Well, I was on my way to water my garden. What, it still doesn’t make sense? How about this. The moment I stepped off the pavement and into the grass a small swarm started to form around me. As I plodded the next thirty feet to my plot in the community garden, the swarm began to grown. By the time I reached my garden plot, hundreds of mosquitoes flew round my feet, lets, torso– looking for a yummy spot to bit. It took them only a minute or so to move towards my face. So it was, that with one hand I holding the watering wand, and with the other I was clearing the air around my face of these vicious insects.

It didn’t help much that someone had decided not to wrap up the hose, and so I had to trudge to the other side of the garden to retrieve i t and then weave my way back to my plot to water my burgeoning lettuce, kale, and spinach, as well as my rather pathetic pepper plants that have blooms, but I fear they’ll topple before the fruit gets to full size, so I may just pick the blooms and hope for a bit of warm weather. My tomatoes are fearless though. They’re taking over everything– it’s a battle between them and the nasturtiums I planted a couple feet away. I had no idea either of them would become so large.

After I watered my garden I grabbed a bunch of lettuce leaves so that I could make myself a salad for lunch. I was halfway back to the house before I realized I’d forgotten the carrots. I decided to save those for another day. There was no way I was heading back into the swarm, at least not today.

Leave a Reply

