Refuse to be Passive

Download Your Talents

In Life in General on July 28, 2010 at 9:59 am

Do you ever wish you could download talents like you can download music? You wouldn’t have to put in all the practice to be good at woodworking, you just would be. And then you wouldn’t have to find places to dispose of all your messed up initial projects. I have a desire to be able to be good at woodworking, but don’t want to put in the time or money (mostly the money) to be able to do it. I don’t want to have to find a garage to rent, buy tools, buy materials, and then spend hours slaving away only to discover that even thought you measured twice and cut once, the pieces still don’t fit together properly. And then you have a lopsided desk that was supposed to look amazing, but now looks like a child built it. And then you’ve wasted your time and money and have to bring this monstrosity to the eco-station where they charge you ten bucks to dispose of it. Strangely, I’m not speaking from experience, but this is how I’d imagine it would play out. But what if you could take that old night stand, sand it down, fill in holes, add a top, add some legs and come out with a desk that looks amazing. I know some people can, but I don’t even have the tools to get started. It would be a thousand dollar desk by the time I invested in the equipment I would need. And then I’d probably screw it up anyways.
Where does this rant come from? Well, I’m moving out of my current townhouse, a two-bedroom, into a little bachelor suite, a max. of 450 square feet I’d say. It’s basically one big room, and the kitchen takes up a large amount of the space, so I’m looking for creative ideas for multi-purpose items all while doing it on a budget. And I don’t mean the “House and Home” budget, where a deal on a dresser is $400. But that’s a rant for another day.
Anyway, over the next few weeks I’ll be scouting out garage sales and flea markets to see what excellent finds there are, and then work with what I’ve got.

Leave a Reply

