Refuse to be Passive

Chew it.

In Life in General on July 21, 2010 at 11:13 am

I read a quote the other day, “Bite of more than you can chew, then chew it.” I forget who said it, but I feel like it exemplifies my life right now. I’ve just gotten back from vacation and have discovered that being gone for just a week leaves a plethora of things to be caught up on! This morning I got up at six-thirty and tackled the weeds in my garden. They were huge, and I can’t help but wondering why they grow so well, but my pepper plants are still piddly. The ground is fairly mucky from consistent rain, but at least that means the roots let go fairly easily. My lettuce is finally up, and my tomato plants are taking off. My bean plants for some reason decided they didn’t want to come up any more than three inches, and so are producing only one bean at a time. Dang that’s annoying. But my carrots and spinach and kale look good, even if my parsnips didn’t come up at all, which makes me sad. I’m starting to think that maybe I’m just inept at gardening.

I was delighted when I got home the other day to find my lawn shorn short, but it was a short-lived happiness when I saw that my rhubarb plant had been demolished, and whoever cut my lawn mowed over my baby tree! That made me mad. They’re not even my plants! My sublet is up in a month and a bit and I have to tell the owners that their baby tree and rhubarb plant are no more! Grr… Beyond that, now my perennial bed is also in need of weeding and I wonder if I’ll ever catch up or if the mosquitoes will get me first.

This weekend the youth group at my church will be hosting a garage sale in order to fund raise some money for events of the upcoming year. I’m starting to think it’ll be more work than it’s worth though. I’m taking trips around town picking stuff up, and I have a car, and not a pick-up so then I need to find other people to help with the bigger items, as many of our congregation cannot move these themselves. And then, come the end of the sale, any unsold furniture will need to go to GoodWill, but once again, I’m trying to contact people with pick-ups to see if they can help out with that. This is turning into a royal pain in the butt. And if worse comes to worse, I’ll have to rent a U-haul, but I really don’t want to have to do that and cut into our profits. I guess I’ll just give that one up to God.

And then I’ve also starting my distance education courses, and so should be reading my textbook for at least an hour a night, but amidst the garage sale hoopla, I’ve been failing on that end. And then I’m still trying to find time to go jogging and swimming– the last of which I haven’t done in weeks and now can’t find my goggles. And have I mentioned that I’m also looking for a new place to live and so must go to viewings and stuff in the evening, and then next weekend I have a wedding in Calgary? So much stuff! Oh life, how I chew you.

Leave a Reply

