Refuse to be Passive

Lawrencetown Beach

In Life in General on July 2, 2010 at 3:52 pm

After spending my first night in Halifax, I decided it would be a good idea to take the Trans Canada Trail 20km from Dartmouth to Lawrencetown Beach, famous for some of the best surfing in Canada. Although I had no intention of surfing, it was the only oceanside hostel within my limited time frame for hiking. The hike down reminded me that I am not in good shape. My legs, shoulders, feet, and lower back all hurt like a banshee. To add insult to injury, it rained the last 8km to the hostel. But at least the scenery was beautiful, even if I was drenched. And let me tell you, I don’t think I could have been any wetter had I run into the ocean itself.

Arriving at the hostel cold and wet, I was greeted by Luke, a local surfer and one of the hostel owners. I looked like a drowned rat and he kindly let me take a shower before we sorted out the business end of things. Also, it so happened the floor inside was concrete, apparently they expected people to come inside sopping wet. I was just thankful I’d lined my pack with a garbage bag so I’d have dry clothes to change into.

Because it was the beginning of the surf season no one was at the hostel except for me and the owners– Luke and Jes. Jes was happy because the water was now 8 degrees, which meant she could switch from her winter to spring wetsuit. Hardcore.  The weather turn nice, and my shoes spent the next 48 hours drying out on the deck. And I spent the next 40 hours reading books, watching movies, drinking coffee on boulders and watching the waves come crashing in. And then there was some time for photography too.

View of the beach house from the sea

After spending two nights and one day at Lawrencetown Beach House I headed back to Halifax. FYI– if you ever stay there, bring your groceries with you–thankfully I had. There’s nothing there but the beach…and how glorious it is!

My hike back was considerably drier than the hike out, and my body had recuperated enough to make the trip. The 48 hours I had at the hostel was needed for recuperation, as all my muscles had seized up from walking so much further than usual, along with added pack weight.

I arrived back in Dartmouth and hopped a bus back to the ferry terminal before collapsing. The ferry ride across the harbour was so misty, we couldn’t see more than 100 meters in front of us. I kept on thinking of the Titanic and while I was relatively certain there were no icebergs, I did imagine crashing into another ship…because that’s never happened in Halifax before. Once off the ferry I trudged back to Halifax Backpackers where I crashed for the rest of the evening after saying hello to a couple of the people who I’d met on my way through last time.

But that’s enough for now. More to come!

Leave a Reply

