Refuse to be Passive

When Bookstore meets Insane

In Life in General on June 30, 2010 at 9:03 am

When you walk into John W. Doull, a used bookstore in downtown Halifax, you can’t help but be amazed. I don’t think I’ve seen so many books in a space that size in my life. It’s organized chaos, and the walking area is limited. If you ever get over your initial amazement, you’ll discover a friendly and helpful staff who know about good literature. When I was there, one of the staff was chatting with a customer about how Halifax’s library system was going downhill. I loved overhearing their conversation while I perused the piles of books, because it was easy to tell that their passion for the written word was real.
The day that I walked in, I was looking for a read that was easy, but not thoughtless or vapid. I asked the man behind the counter for his suggestions, and after inquiring as to my tastes, he pulled out a number of books I might be interested in. I was impressed not only with the service he gave, but also how he knew where everything was. While the store is split into genre, once you look at the pictures below, you’ll realize why his knowledge of book location was so amazing. I could have spent hours in that store. It’s the type of place you wander into and feel like you hit the jackpot. So if you’re ever in Halifax this place is not to be missed. Head to the intersection of Barrington and Prince and you’ll be happy you did.

Leave a Reply

