Refuse to be Passive

What you’ve been waiting for…

In Life in General on June 29, 2010 at 9:11 am

Many of you have been asking to see pictures of my time in Halifax. Now that I’ve been back for two weeks, you’re finally in luck!
My first day in Halifax I checked into my hostel, Halifax Backpackers, and then headed out to see the town. I was exhausted from traveling, but took in the Citadel, a fort made to defend Halifax from attack, but was never actually put to use. It was fascinating to hear about this history that caused the Citadel to be built, and was a nice way for me to ease into being in Halifax. The evening I spent in. There were lots of single travelers, and six of us had no desire to go out that night, so we sat around reading Trivial Pursuit cards to one another. We did really well, as we had a Kiwi, Brit, two Canadians, and two Germans playing. But we bombed all of the American political history questions. After having two questions where President Ford was the answer, he became our go-to answer for questions on which we were clueless.
I met some really cool people at the Halifax hostel, and two of them will be coming through Edmonton later this summer, so hopefully that means we’ll get to catch up. And while I forgot to take pictures of the Halifax Backpackers, I can safely say that it was one of the best hostels I’ve ever stayed at. Friendly staff and travelers. Free internet. A decently stocked kitchen. Enough bathrooms and showers (clean enough too, but there was one clean freak who decided she couldn’t stay there– it’s a hostel, not a hotel lady!). Anyway, here are some pics from my first day in Halifax.

Leave a Reply

