Refuse to be Passive

A New Week and Leonardo DiCaprio

In Life in General, Movies with a bit of TV on June 28, 2010 at 10:07 am

I skipped swimming this morning after a restless night due to car alarms, police sirens, ambulances, and all sorts of noises coming in through my window. I don’t think it quieted down until 2 am, which was annoying.  In a rare move, I got out of bed only half and hour before I had to leave for work, but I still managed to be the first one into the office. My weekend was excellent, consisting of brunch with friends on Saturday, Jazz in the Park in the afternoon, some time hanging with my sister, looking at a basement suite for Fall, as my sublet is up in two months, and then watching Shutter Island in the evening.

I really love Leonardo DiCaprio and Martin Scorsese movies, because you expect those brilliant twists and turns, but there’s usually an extra one at the end that makes you unsure if the ending is “right” or not. I love it. I also like the suspense without the guts and gore or promiscuity. DiCaprio has really chosen some great films to do in the past few years. From Revolutionary Road, to Blood Diamond, to Shutter Island, you always come out with a feeling that it wasn’t just entertainment, but you learned something. That’s what makes a truly good movie. Fluff movies are a dime a dozen, but one that keeps you enthralled while making you think? That’s worth it’s weight in gold. It’s interesting to me that the guy who did Titanic and The Beach (neither of which are my favourite movies) is now putting out quality. And he’s never plastered in the gossip columns. It’s like the guy grew up (I suppose he is 36, so maybe that makes sense) and decided that a life in Hollywood could be a life where he could make a difference, while keeping the drama on screen and not off. Granted, I really don’t know that much about the guy, but that’s the general gist of what I think about him, and I can’t wait for his next film Inception. DiCaprio and Christopher Nolan? It’s bound to be brilliant.

Leave a Reply

