Refuse to be Passive

A Total Sham?

In Life in General on June 25, 2010 at 12:16 pm

We all know of them, strength assessment tests. Are they a total sham? I’ve done a few of these over my life, from grids, to colours, to personality types, to strengths.
The latest test I did was the StrengthsQuest through Clifton. It’s an updated version of Strengths Finder 2.0, but has the same 34 strengths that they quiz you on. They say that people who wind up taking this test more than once over a period of time will have a 75% match to the first time they took it. Apparently I’m not a person.
I took the Strengths Finder 2.0 test last year and got these as my top 5 strengths:
– Adaptability
– Maximizer
– Command
– Belief
– Responsibility

Fair enough. While I see some of these in myself more than others, I don’t thing any of them are completely wrong.
Now, a week ago, I took the StrengthsQuest assessment. My top 5 results?
– Futuristic
– Communication
– Belief
– Ideation
– Restorative

Notice anything strange? Only one is the same. I’m starting to think that maybe what this test actually discovers is what “strengths” you’re using the most at a given time. The only reason I say this is that one of my co-workers read that second set of “strengths” and said, “Sounds like you’d be a perfect youth pastor.” Ironic, seeing as last year I took on the youth ministry in my church, and am putting it through a bit of an overhaul right now.
The thing that is really unfortunate about StrengthsQuest is that you only discover your top five, and that you could have four more coming in close behind those five, and you’d never know. That may be what happened between the two times I took this test, but I don’t know. The second time I took the test I would say is much more accurate for me as a complete person, and so I won’t write it off completely. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

