Refuse to be Passive

Garbage, Recycling, and all that jazz

In Uncategorized on May 19, 2010 at 8:22 am

I was out for my jog this morning, and was enjoying the perfect weather, 17 degrees at 6 am and slightly overcast. But one thing that quickly put a damper on my time outdoors was the fact that it’s garbage day. Now, that in and of itself doesn’t bother me too much. We do need to get rid of our garbage at some point during the week. No, what really got to me was how much of it some households were putting out. You’d see one measley bag of recycling and five gigantic black bags of trash. What are these people buying that they can’t recycle any of it? And why don’t they buy things with less packaging, so they don’t have to create to much trash in the first place? We abuse the earth and it’s resources so much, and that really ticks me off. I would say that my recycling to garbage ratio is four to one. Most of what I use and buy can either be recycled or composted. And if it costs a buck more for the same product with less packaging, I’m willing to pay it. Yes, I even wash and reuse those plastic produce bags, although I’m hoping to get a mesh set soon, so I can just bypass those all together. But what ticks me off is when people buy things like Kirkland toiletpaper, which comes in gigantic packs of 36 rolls or something (they probably also come in smaller packs) and not only is there the outter packaing, but each roll is also individually plastic wrapped. Not cool! In fact, when I had roommates I tried to get them to stop buying it, but failed. They figured that since plastic was recyclable, there was nothing wrong with the extra packaging. Why don’t people understand that it’s better to not take it out of nature and process it in the first place. Less energy and less resources are used. Who cares if it’s recyclable? If you don’t need it, don’t make it, and we’ll all be better off. The same goes true for appliances and such. If the break down we tend to throw them out and just buy new ones, but getting them repaired not only helps the local economy, but also keeps extra stuff out of landfills. For example, my waffle maker just went on the fritz and before I chuck it, I’m going to see if I can’t bring it into a small appliance repaire shop and get it fixed. If they tell me it will be the same price as buying a new one, I’ll get them to fix it anyways, partially because I might just have the world’s coolest waffle maker, but also because it will become one less thing in the landfill. People, we only have so much space to store our garbage, and it’s rapidly being depleated. Take some responsiblity upon yourself to slow the build up of trash that destroys plant and animal habitats, as well as eventually destroying the world we live in. I don’t want to live in a trash heap, do you?

Leave a Reply

