Refuse to be Passive

Farmer’s Markets and such

In Uncategorized on May 17, 2010 at 9:09 am

It’s been a few days since my last post, but I am still here! This weekend was divine. My parents were up for part of the weekend, and I spent Friday afternoon hanging out with my father, and then the evening with both my parents and Erika and Chuck. The next morning we met up at Erika’s house for a french toast brunch, and then headed to the downtown farmer’s market. The atmosphere was that of a small town fair. There were games for kids, people making balloon animals, various vendors selling roasted peanuts, homemade jellies, fresh fruit and vegetables. And the weather was perfect, not too cool, not too warm, clear and bright. I honestly think that this might have been one of the best farmer market experiences I’ve ever had. My father surprised me by buying me a bottle of Apricot syrup, which I can’t wait to try next time I make french toast, waffles, or pancakes. There was also a new wine bar, having an open house with wine tastings at the same time as the farmer’s market, so my brother-in-law and I ducked inside, each grabbed a drink, and headed up to the second level to get a birdseye view of what was happening down on the street. I couldn’t help but imagine how wonderful it would be to live on that street during the summer, to just wake up in the morning and head down to the farmer’s market to pick up a fresh loaf of bread and some chevre, and maybe duck into the coffee shop to pick up a cup of steaming black liquid. Divine. But then I think of the winter, and while the great local shops and such would still be around, I think downtown might be a bit dreary in the winter. Not many trees or green spaces (although nowhere is really green in Edmonton in the winter). But I think the area would be dirty. I’d wind up spending much time in doors I think, so I’d need to love the place I live and have turned it into a haven. Thankfully, that is something I am supremely confident that I can do. That being said, I also did a bit of driving around with my father over the weekend, looking at houses that we’d like to buy, which got me thinking about buying a house. They would be two completely different lifestyles– tiny apartment vs. house with yard. And the biggest question is, how long do I intend to stay in Edmonton? Well isn’t that the million dollar question.

Leave a Reply

