Refuse to be Passive

Travel Blogs

In Life in General on May 13, 2010 at 9:09 am

Someone I know is traveling from Australia to England in six months, packing in everything on the way. I’ve been keeping up with his blog and must confess to a wee bit of envy, not only over his trip, but over his ability to write. He is truly talents and could probably make a living at it. Actually, he could definitely make a living at it.
Today, one of the featured WordPress blogs was also a travel blog and strangely, he was writing about a similar area to where my friend has just finished trekking through. And once again I find myself longing to be traveling. But traveling is costly, and I have debts to pay off from my schooling, and no particularly marketable skills that would allow me to pick up odd jobs as I trotted around the globe. And I’m also not rolling in the dough, as my job, which doesn’t pay poorly, isn’t exactly making me rich. I would have to drastically revamp my lifestyle for the next year in order to be able to travel for six months, a year, or two years. I’d have to cut my costs and pick up some marketable skills along the way. Any ideas? Bartending is the first thing that comes to mind, with a barista being the second. Any others?

Leave a Reply

