Refuse to be Passive

Become How You Act

In Uncategorized on May 12, 2010 at 10:07 am

Last week, I heard someone say, “Act the way you want to be, and you will become how you act.” I’m sure it’s a quote from some famous person, and I should be giving credit where credit is due, but when you can’t find who said it on Google, you’re kinda outta luck.

That statement is so true though! You are what you do, and so, in becoming who you want to be–if you’re not already there– you need to act how you want to be. There’s something to think about. And then, of course, the question that pops into my head is, what do I want to become? Do I want to be a car-less flexetarian with a penchant for Farmer’s Markets? Do I want to be a baking guru, or do I want to live the healthiest life possible? For me, the two are mutually exclusive, as I have difficulties saying “no” to anything with sugar in it. Do I want to live on the prairies or try some time on the coast? Do I want to remain in my current job, or do I want to try my hand at something else? If it is something else, what is it, and what steps will I have to take to get there. Do I want a “big” life, or a simple, small one. On these questions I always get stuck. And believe me, I have thought about it. I just feel like I’m in limbo. So right now I’m working on one small one, one small one that is taking me years to embrace and follow through on–living the healthiest life possible. Sometimes I get it right, most of the time I get it wrong. But in the words of the quote that opened this post, “Act how you want to be and you will become how you act.”  So if I take action towards healthiness, and embrace it, I’ll probably get there, and then maybe this annoying pendulum swing I’ve been on for the last decade will finally go away.

Leave a Reply

