Refuse to be Passive

Jogging, Frost, and Idling Cars

In Life in General on May 10, 2010 at 9:18 am

This morning I got out of bed at 6:01. My alarm went off and I refused to hit the snooze button, instead just letting it buzz in my ear until I got up. Needless to say it didn’t take me long. I threw on some clothes and my running shoes and headed out the door. There was frost on the ground and I was glad I’d decided to wear a hoodie, although noted to myself that I need some sweatpants, as my legs were a bit chilly. After four weeks off due to a sore back, and then an infection in my foot, I was finally back on the jogging path. As such, I had to take a step back in my jogging training and go a little easier on myself today. I jogged around my neighbourhood and watched the sun come up over the houses. The car windows were tinted with frost. As I jogged, I noticed a number of people had their cars idling to clear the light frost from their windshields. The first one irked me a bit, and got me thinking. By the second and third I was downright annoyed. It’s a light frost! Just scrape your windshield! I’m trying to jog here and you’re polluting the air that I’m breathing! I’d cooled off again by the time I got home, but made a mental note to blog about this. It takes a certain amount of arrogance to be willing to pollute the atmosphere in such a flippant, avoidable way– an arrogance that North Americans tend to have in spades. There is one world, one air we breathe, and if we can’t even have the decency to not idle our cars, but scrape the windshield instead, what are we teaching to the younger generation who will inherit this planet? And what kind of a planet will we be giving them to inherit? Quit being lazy and scrape off your car windows people. It’s not winter, there’s no snow on the ground, and it’s a minor frost. Take some responsibility for this world we live in.

All that being said, it felt great to be out jogging again this morning. I do love mornings.

Leave a Reply

