Refuse to be Passive

My Beef with Kraft’s What’s Cooking

In Food on May 5, 2010 at 10:24 am

I love looking at the pictures in Kraft’s What’s Cooking magazine, as the deserts they feature look divine. However, I have a beef with the recipes within the magazine. Not only at 90% of them worse than unhealthy for you, none of them actually require any time in the kitchen to make. Everything is pre-made, and all you have to do is mix it together, usually using rather expensive ingredients. For example: a featured recipe right now is Peanut Butter and Fudge swirl pie. Okay, so you do make the crust yourself, but there is no talent in combining high fat, high sugar items to create a delicious desert. You simply mix together peanut butter, Cool-whip (absurdly expensive to the point I won’t buy it), cream cheese (and lot of it– also not cheap), and a package of pudding mix. You pour that into your pie crust, and top with fudge topping that comes from a container. That’s not baking–that’s mixing. In fact, it bugs me that things like this can even claim to be recipes. Nothing is made from scratch. Nothing. You don’t even need to whip your own cream or add vanilla extract. It seems like a cheap excuse for a recipe to me. That being said, these deserts are yummy, but that is their only redeeming quality; and that is not enough for me. I can make healthier deserts, that are just as delicious if I put a little effort into it, and then I can be proud of my creation, and not feel like I bought it in the store or cheated in making it.

  1. Huzzah to that!

Leave a Reply

