Refuse to be Passive

A Summer First

In Life in General on May 2, 2010 at 7:50 pm

I love the “firsts” of summer. Tonight I took out my rollerblades for the first time in 2010, and headed down the greenstrip that runs behind my housing co-op. Is there anything more beautiful than the wind blowing on your face as you glide down the path, without having to worry yet about bugs flying into your mouth? I really did forget how much I love rollerblading. For years I hated it, and I discovered that this was simply due to bad skates. I picked up a decent pair at a yard sale for ten bucks last year and they’ve given me hours and hours of joy.

My neighbourhood really wakes up in the Spring. I’d never noticed before how many children there are, from tiny tots to teens on bikes. There is a huge population of youth in my neighbourhood, and the thing I love about it is that they all seem to be having harmless fun, kicking around a soccerball, tossing a football, or shooting hoops at the nearby schoolyard. There’s a sense of belonging that comes in joining your neighbours outside to enjoy the weather. Last night, if I wasn’t so tired, I would have headed out my back door and down the firelane to where bonfire glowed, surrounded by neighbours chatting about the weekend and their plans for the summer. I really do love this time of year and rediscovering all the joys that warm weather brings. It’s just…brilliant.

Leave a Reply

