Refuse to be Passive

It’s the Tax Man

In Uncategorized on April 24, 2010 at 9:29 pm

If you’ve ever seen the movie Stranger than Fiction, you’ll know why I love Maggie Gyllenhall’s character, Anna Pascal. She’s fun, confident, and knows what she believes. In fact, she’s so firm in her ethics and values that she chooses not to pay a portion of her taxes to protest things like the military budget. Thus, she get’s audited. She’s a bit of a rebel, which makes her great. Quite frankly, if I were to get audited, I’m not sure that I could face it like she does. “Tax man!” she taunts him from across the counter of her bakery.
I filed my taxes today, but didn’t hold anything back from the government. I suppose that was easy to do as I didn’t owe the government a balance anyways, I’m getting a refund. And my taxes are taken directly off of my paycheck by my employer. But I always get a little antsy during tax season and wait as long as I can before hitting up UFile and fill out the paperwork. This year was easier than last, and once again I find myself asking why I dread filing taxes so much? It’s never actually caused me any pain, and with the online services you can now use, it’s actually rather painless. All it takes is gathering your paperwork, sitting down at your laptop, and filling out the form and submitting it. Half and hour, forty-five minutes tops– the forty-five is if you’re like me and triple check it just to make sure the numbers are right. So simple, and never painful, yet I dread it every year. I don’t understand. Maybe next year I’ll actually file at the beginning of March. Ha. Yeah right.

  1. You filed! Hooray!

Leave a Reply

