Refuse to be Passive

The Move

In Uncategorized on April 23, 2010 at 3:45 pm

Today has been a day of running back and forth from one building to the other at work. We’re moving our offices to a temporary location so that renovations can be done on our current space. The move has gone really well, although considering I hurt my back yesterday, I’m probably doing too much lifting and may be regretting that tomorrow.
Two of the five of us had asked for this day off months ago, before we knew today was the day we’d have to move. So, as such, there were only three of us to finish packing and to get the move going. Thankfully, three of the guys from facilities graciously moved the big stuff, and all we had to do was pack the boxes of our paperwork and such and put them on carts. It’s a good thing they were there to move the desks and bookshelves because I’m certainly in no condition to do that. On top of the sore back, I’ve also got a nice little headache, and I’m really tired since every time I turned last night, the pain in my back woke me up. I must admit that I’m looking forward to having a quiet evening at home. I was supposed to go out with some friends and do karaoke, but I don’t feel up to it. I’m sure they’ll manage to have fun without me.
One of the perks of today though, is that jeans and a t-shirt are considered appropriate work attire, and unlike the rest of the university, my boss doesn’t believe in casual Friday, so this is a rarity.
Also a perk of today was the Second Cup run that happened this morning, and the delightful Bombay that I had as a result. And then lunch was a Sante Fe salad from Tony Roma’s. I’ve never had it before, but it was nice, if not slightly unhealthy with the bacon, cheese, tortilla, and ranch dressing. Ah well, I tried to be healthy.
The day is almost over though, only 40 minutes left– yes, I know, what a time to take a break!– the move is finished though and it’s the first chance I’ve really gotten to sit down. Ah glorious.
Tomorrow morning is brunch with friends. Should be delish!

Leave a Reply

