Refuse to be Passive

Completely Unacceptable

In Uncategorized on April 20, 2010 at 11:16 am

I’d canceled an online subscription a couple of weeks ago. I’d turned off the auto-renewal function and closed my account a couple of days before. Today I checked my Visa bill online and saw that they had charged me for the upcoming month. I’d been warned about this by other users who had finished with this company. So I called in and was told that when charges were made they were non-refundable and that if I cancelled less than 24hrs before my subscription was renewed, that I would be charged for it. I pointed out to him that I’d turned off the auto-renew function, and that I’d canceled my account at least 48hrs before it expired. The representative told me that for the inconvenience he could refund half the amount and still give me access to my subscription for the rest of the month. I told him that I wanted my full refund, as there was no error on my part. After putting me on hold for a few minutes he came back on and said that although it was against company policy, this one time, he’d refund my money. Dang right he’d refund my money. But at least it got done.
I have to admit that by the end of the phone conversation I felt rather sorry for the guy on the end of the line. He must have to deal with annoyed people all day long. I was stern, but polite. I’d imagine some people actually yell at him. He sounded tired. And it must be company policy to tell people their money is non-refundable, then if that doesn’t work, offer the next month at half price, and if that doesn’t work, then give them the refund. How tedious! But I got my refund, and he was polite through the whole thing. While this whole thing was annoying, ultimately it just made me glad I have the job I do.

Leave a Reply

