Refuse to be Passive

Another Weekend Gone

In Food, Life in General on April 19, 2010 at 9:05 am

The weekend is over and it’s back to work. I have to admit that while most weekends seem to fly by quickly, this one seemed rather extended. Maybe it’s because I didn’t have a single night with more than 5 hours of sleep, so really, it was extended, by around 8 hours. My sister is heading back up to Grand Prairie today, but it was great having her down. The three of us girls went to garage sales Saturday morning, and hit up the Dutchess for some divine treats– try the brownies! On Sunday evening we were all together at the family and friends night before the opening of the new Transcend Coffee location. It was fabulous. Great coffee, some nice wine, great snacks, and of course, great people. I really like the Transcend crowd. They enjoy coffee, good beer, and good conversation. They’re intellectuals with soul. I met some new people, caught up with some old, and got to spend time sipping chai lattes (fabulous!). Also, I got to spend some more time with my nephew who is just a little charmer. Everyone at the opening was taken with him. Even when that kid is overtired he’s still smiling and getting to know new people. I took him outside for a while and discovered he has a fascination with cars, motorcycles, and bright lights. He also tried getting into some drawers over the course of the evening, and tried to steal a beer out of the ice chest. What a boy.

After the opening Martha and I got a chance to just hang out and chat. Yes, we’d seen each other over the weekend, but we’d been busy, or with other people, and really hadn’t had time to catch up. So, last night was a late night, and this morning was an early on as I got up to go for a jog. It’s amazing how good it feels to get up in the morning, when it’s already light outside, and get your blood pumping. It’s the getting out of bed that’s a challenge, but I did it.

Now I’m sitting at my desk, nursing a coffee and feeling completely thankful for caffeine.

Leave a Reply

