Refuse to be Passive

Thoroughly Mediocre

In Uncategorized on April 15, 2010 at 12:17 pm

I will never be the best at anything. There will always be someone better than I.
A couple of days ago I got a grades breakdown in my mailbox from my Introduction to Volleyball class. In my skills evaluation and performance, I got a 16.3/20. That’s an 81.5%. Now, most people will be saying, “That’s not that bad.” But for me, it actually hurt a little bit. I read through her comments about my technique, and I felt myself go stiff. I hate criticism, even constructive criticism. I had to take a full 48 hours before I could look at them again. Before I could look at them objectively and recognize that these are indeed excellent suggestions, and some of them I already knew needed work.
And while 81.5% isn’t bad, in my family of overachievers, it feels thoroughly mediocre.
I’ll never be a person who makes millions or is famous for their political prowess or philanthropic work. I’m no Mother Theresa, Desmond Tutu, or Jane Austen. I’ll never be remembered except by my immediate family members and some friends. And once they pass away, it will be as if I’d never been. I am typical. I excel at nothing, have a few things I can never do, and have a few things I can become relatively proficient at with a lot of work. I am thoroughly mediocre– my job is to make the stars shine brighter.

Leave a Reply

