Refuse to be Passive

Tulips

In Life in General on April 6, 2010 at 9:17 am

On my kitchen table, there sit half a dozen pale pink tulips in a green carafe. They make me happy. My friend brought them with her to dinner yesterday, and it just brightened up the whole table. It was like an announcement, “Spring is here.” I sat and just looked at them for a while this morning, and they made me happy all over again. There’s something about live flowers that can brighten up a room. There don’t have to be many, and they don’t have to be fancy. Flowers are full of cheer. I love it. They make me feel like everything that I was worried about no longer matters. The tulips don’t worry. They just sit there and look lovely, and life goes on. I need to worry less. I need to take more time to stop and smell the flowers.

  1. I don’t know why we don’t buy ourselves tulips more often…they are a fairly cost effective way of making life about 25% better. I think we need to make a tulip-buying commitment.

Leave a Reply

