Refuse to be Passive

The Experiment, and other such stuff

In Art, Food on March 28, 2010 at 4:52 pm

Well, my time off from processed food continues to go on, and in some ways I really like it. It makes me slow down life a bit and take time to cook things like oven roasted root vegetables, multigrain bread, and make yogurt cheese. All very fun! I’ve been redefining what I’m counting as processed a bit though. So yogurt, is still in my diet, seeing as the process to make it involves bacteria rather than chemicals. It doesn’t have any of the long preservative words listed in the ingredients. And did you know that if you take plain yogurt, and strain it through cheese cloth overnight that you’ll get a delightful, creme fraishe style “cheese” that you can put on your toast if you so desire? I had that topped with strawberries this morning for breakfast and it was delightful.

This afternoon I helped my friend Sara move. On the whole, helping people move is one of those things I’d rather not do, but lots of hands make light work, so I headed over to her place to help them get it done faster. It was quick. They’d already moved a lot of stuff, so I think the move today took less than three hours. No too shabby! Everyone was going to stick around for pizza, hypothetically, but no one actually did. I figured it would be best for me to make an early exit so I wasn’t faced with the temptation of one of my all-time favourite foods.

So now, I have a nice evening to relax, and then the week starts again. It’s amazing how time just keeps going. We really need to pay attention to what’s going on right now, or in twenty years, we’ll have no clue where it went or what we missed. Here I go, off to pay attention to the here and now.

Leave a Reply

