Refuse to be Passive

My Bruised Ego

In Life in General on March 27, 2010 at 2:35 pm

Yesterday night my ego took quite a beating. I was hanging out with a friend and over the course of the night he made a lot of comments about how he viewed me. The tops ones were that I was a control freak, and I wanted everything to be as it should be, the second that I saw everything in black and white, for me there was no grey, which I suppose ties into number one. The third was that I was brainwashed because I’m a Christian. Ouch. Even if people think it, they rarely say it. There were other things too, but those are the big ones. The first two stung a bit, but I could see how he got there. But when he pulled in my faith, that really hurt. It’s something completely fundamental to who I am. I suppose he saw my faith as a catalyst for numbers one and two.
Anyways, I went away from that evening with a headache, feeling really tired (it was 3 a.m.) and wanting to crawl into bed and not think about what he had said to me.
Now, the next afternoon, as I slept away the entire morning, it still stings– and I still have a headache. I know that the Bible warns us that people will think we’re crazy, or that they’ll speak against what we believe, but it’s not something you expect out of a friend. It’s really easy to take from someone you don’t know. You shrug it off and keep going, saying, “they just don’t get it.”
I don’t think my friend has any clue that what he said hurt, and even if he did, I don’t think he’d regret saying it.
It kinda sucks.

  1. I find this kind of comment (the one your friend made) to be tough to process in general. Sometimes its good because it helps you to see yourself from another perspective but sometimes its also easy to brush such words aside. Hope you gained something out of it.

Leave a Reply

