Refuse to be Passive

Day One Down

In Food on March 23, 2010 at 9:09 am

Day One of my experiment to eat not processed foods for five weeks (until the end of April), is finished. How did I do? Very well thank you! But I already discovered one of my biggest challenges. What to do when you’re out of the house and want a snack. Tim Horton’s? Nope. Nothing. Bakery? Nope (at least for the most part). Bagel shop. No. Coffee Shop? Not really. Dang, this could be hard.
I wound up waiting until I got home and had something to eat– roasted parsnips to be exact. The other thing I’m discovering is how much you have to eat. Processed foods are laden with calories, and one fast food meal can often take care of your daily caloric needs. But if you’re eating mainly fruits and vegetables, it takes a long time for those calories to build up! And the thing is, I still want to eat balanced, healthy meals, so I didn’t just want to fill up on protein.
Anyway, Day One went well, now on to Day Two!

My friend asked me if bread counted. This was a bit of a debate with myself and ultimately I came to this answer. a) I don’t eat much bread in the first place, b) yes, I can have bread provided that I make it so I know what’s in it, or that it comes from somewhere like Edmonton’s Tree Stone Bakery, which grinds their own flour and bakes their own bread , once again, so that I can know what’s in it. I’m still of two minds on whether this is cheating or not. Let me know what you think.

  1. I wish you all the luck in the world. I can’t imagine how tough that will be. I have been a vegetarian for 21 years, which can be challenging enough. I tried to be a vegan and that was just awful. I got sick and decided that was enough of that. I hope you find some good recipes to share!

  2. They’ve been making an eating bread since Genesis. I vote it’s alright.

Leave a Reply

