Refuse to be Passive

The Experiment

In Food, Life in General on March 22, 2010 at 9:13 am

So, as you may know from a previous post, I went to the zoo this weekend. As my friend and I wandered through the exhibits, I couldn’t help but notice what kinds of food the animals were eating. The prairie dogs had carrots and broccoli, the seals ate sardines, the monkeys had pieces of fruit, the Kookaburra was swallowing whole baby chicks, and so on and so on. One thing I didn’t see much of was processed food. No animal had a Big Mac box in the bottom of their cage, or was eating a plate of fries. None of them had cupcakes or chocolate to munch on. Why? Because it’s not what they were made to eat. Therefore, it’s not very healthy for them, assuming they’d be willing to eat it at all.

That begs the question, why do we as humans, if we feed zoo animals what they were made to eat, not do the same thing for ourselves? Obviously we do to some extent. Most of us will eat the occasional salad, and really enjoy a good baked potato, or a pork chop. But most of us also eat things like Twinkies, potato chips, Blizzards, and cake. None of these are part of what we were created to eat, yet we eat junk and processed food as if it were the base of the food pyramid. It take in high sodium, high fat, high sugar foods into our bodies that weren’t made to process large amounts of any of these things. People wonder why we have problems with obesity, blood pressure, cancer, and other diseases. Okay, some of it may be genetic, but the biggest part is that what we put in our mouth was never supposed to be consumed by humans. As such, I am embarking on an experiment. If It’s processed, I won’t eat it. No Fruit Loops, no chocolate bars, no pre-made flash frozen chicken wings, no grande soy half-sweet pumpkin spice lattes, no…well, you get the point. I’m giving this test until the end of April to see if this change to eating what we were made to consume, and cutting out the rest, will make a significant difference in how I feel mentally, physically, and spiritually. I’ll check in here from time to time, but feel free to ask me about how it’s going when you see me. There will undoubtedly be times when I think I am totally crazy and I’ll want nothing more than a bag of microwave popcorn or double chocolate chip cookies. But I think this experiment will be worthwhile, even if it is slightly painful.

  1. No Fruit Loops? But… But…

Leave a Reply

