Refuse to be Passive

First Impressions

In Art, Food, Life in General on March 21, 2010 at 1:30 am

I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m no good at first impressions. My nerves seem to get the better of me, even when I don’t realize that they’re present and active. I tend to say things that create awkward silence or come across as potentially insulting, even if that’s not the way they were intended. Making a good impression doesn’t seem to be my forte. I’m alright with the introductions and smiles, but as soon as I open my mouth, my foot tends to go in. Now, thankfully, most people are fairly generous and do not judge me based on one sentence, at least, I don’t think they do. If they do, they’re very good at hiding it.

My brother-in-law had a birthday party tonight and it was a lot of fun. I met many new people, and yes, I stuck my foot in my mouth a time or two…or three. They’re all delightful people, but often I felt awkward. There was only one point in the evening when I felt completely comfortable. There was a guy there with his girlfriend, and for nearly the whole evening he’d been silent. I found out that he was studying civil engineering at the UofA and we discovered a shared passion for great architecture and city planning. We talked for a good twenty minutes or so about what we’d like to see happen in Edmonton, and what we had seen take place in other cities that seemed to be working. It was really fantastic. From improving public transportation, to traffic patterns in the downtown core, to the design of the new Art Gallery of Alberta, all was discussed. By the way, we both approve of the new art gallery design and were very impressed with the featured exhibits. We both loved ‘Murder of Crows’ and thought that the Karsh, Degas, and Goya exhibits were perfect for the opening of the gallery. That was a delightful part of the evening. But for the rest, these were people I didn’t really fit in with, regardless of how nice they were. So, once again, I stepped out into a new experience and felt out of place and slightly alone. And due to that, my foot seemed to find it’s way into my mouth more often than usual. Food also found it’s way into my mouth more often than usual, as there was a plethora of delicious options and if I was chewing, I couldn’t talk. So much for the concept that I don’t overeat in high stress situations.

  1. I feel your pain. I too went to a birthday party yesterday (at least 50% of birthdays seem to be in March) and was mostly surrounded by people I didn’t know. I spent a good deal of time either being quiet, or regretting having spoken.

Leave a Reply

