Refuse to be Passive

Sick, Sick, Sick

In Life in General on March 1, 2010 at 10:40 am

I have come down with a cold. I haven’t had a cold in over a year. I got the flu twice over Christmas, but before that also hadn’t been sick in over a year. I guess now is my time to be sick. One can’t go without being sick for a year and a half and then complain when they do start getting sick, especially if it’s minor stuff like the flu or a cold. I’m just not used to it anymore. Thankfully, my cold is not keeping me from sleeping (yet). And if I have to take a day off of work to get better, I definitely have the sick days built up. So now it’s a waiting game to see what my body will do. I’ll focus on taking lots of Vitamin C, getting to bed on time, and drinking lots of water. Hopefully that will make this be a shorter cold, rather than a drawn out one.
I was on the worship team at church yesterday and it was an adventure. Three of the four of us were sick, and I could hit even relatively high notes. Needless to say, a couple of times I wound up singing the alto line. Now, today, I’m a bit worried about losing my voice.
Now, that being said, this is not a bad time of year to be sick. Work is relatively slow. And as for stuff outside of work, for the most part I can reschedule. Except for my volleyball game on Wednesday, that has potential to be ugly. Such is life.
Other than that, yesterday was delightfully relaxing, and I discovered that there’s definitely something to be said for being organized. Life is so much easier that way. I learn that lesson repeatedly, and then forget it. Hopefully this time it will stick.

Leave a Reply

