Refuse to be Passive

Binge Eating

In Food, Life in General on March 1, 2010 at 7:52 pm

I have this problem. Any night when I don’t have anything planned and I’m home alone I eat. And not just dinner. I’ll eat anything that’s in the house, one after another. I eat until I actually feel a bit ill. What is wrong with me? I know, it’s called emotional eating. I eat when I’m bored or lonely or stressed. Lately it’s been that I’m bored. I’m not lonely, and not stressed. I just don’t know what to do with myself. And the things I could be doing just sound…boring. How pathetic. I’ve made decisions before to stop having binge evenings, but I fail miserably. The best suggestions people have are thing like “go for a walk”– not something you want to do in my neighbourhood after dark. Read a book? That gives me munchies. About the only thing I’ve found that works is cleaning, and there’s only so much cleaning one can do. Anyway, tonight has been a binge night, and I’m kind of ashamed of that. Do I really need food to make me feel complete? If so, that’s just wrong. That’s not where I should be finding my meaning and purpose. Food is meant to be enjoyed, but in the end, it’s just food. So, any other brilliant suggestions?

  1. Considering I just ate the remainder of a bucket of ice cream without bothering to even move it out of the bucket into a bowl, I’m unfortunately fresh out of ideas 😦

Leave a Reply

