Refuse to be Passive

A Thirst for Knowledge…and Beer

In Life in General on February 19, 2010 at 2:03 am

I talked with a friend on the phone for two hours tonight. I think he now believes I am nuts. The conversation started when I told him via text that drunkeness was one of my pet peeves. This necessitated a phone call when he asked for an explanation. During the course of the conversation I told him I was a Christian. He was cool with that, but started getting skeptical when he found out I was more than a lip-service Christian. He’s a firm believer in not giving your life over to somthing or Someone, particularly if it can’t be proven empirically.
Turns out this guy, who I’d never thought of as much of a brainiac, although never thought of as stupid, is a hardcore academic. He has a massive thirst for knowlege, and many of his more profound thoughts seem to be the result of discussions and arguments with friends after having one too many beers. He says that’s when he does his best thinking. He also thinks I’m too uptight. But that’s another story. He’s completely non-judgmental, which kinda drives me nuts– but so be it. When you claim no absolute truth, you can afford to believe that people can believe whatever they want and be right. He’s a big proponent that as long as he’s not doing anything “bad”–illegal– he’ll be alright.
Part of his thirst for knowledge has read him to read the Bible cover to cover. There were a lot of things in it he didn’t get, but he wanted to know what he was talking about when going up against people.
We talked for a bit about Christianity and my beliefs, the conversation wandered back in another direction, and then veered back to faith. This would happen multiple times throughout the conversation. The honest truth though, is that there were a number of dead ends I hit, and areas I had no answers. Leaving it up to faith isn’t good enough for him. Since he’s an academic and has a thirst for knowledge, I suggested he read C.S. Lewis’ Mere Christianity. I hope he does. Lewis has a way of putting things into words that I just don’t have.
I hope that the Holy Spirit has planted a seed to grow within my friend, and that He will use me to His glory and honour. But I feel like such a failure.
I hope I didn’t freak him out too much. He seems cool with it all, and I’m hoping he is, as I’d really like to keep him as a friend.

  1. He might also try Lee Strobel’s “Case For” series. It starts with “Case for Christ” which looks at whether or not it’s even worth it to consider what the Bible says in the first place. Next is “Case for Faith” which I’m presently in the middle of reading. It expounds on the idea that if you can trust the general historicity of the Bible (as the case is made in the previous book), then what about the objections that seem to make its doctrine’s irrelevant.

Leave a Reply

