Refuse to be Passive

Budgeting

In Life in General on February 16, 2010 at 12:07 pm

Part of my job is to help students learn how to budget. Part of my job is to help them find areas where they can cut expenses. As such, I do a bit of research each week, looking for new ideas on how to cut expenses. Now, conveniently, that means that I’m also finding out ways to tweak my own budget, or at least I should be. The thing that really drives me nuts about all this research though, is that I never find any new ways for me to trim my spending. It’s mostly old hat for me. Of course you write a list when you go grocery shopping. Of course to get books out of the library rather than buying them (if the library doesn’t have it, they’ll often buy it if you out in a request). Of course you don’t buy what you don’t need (okay, so that’s a bit of advice I could probably take to heart). But really, most of what they’re citing, doesn’t apply to me. I don’t buy daily lattes at Starbucks or buy bottled water. I walk where I can, when I can. I don’t buy extravagantly. Still, at the end of the month, my money is tight. This month I’ll be ending with less than $50 in my bank account. My rent, by all means, is cheap, and includes utilities. I don’t have cable– for $70 a month, I can rent a movie a day at Safeway and still be ahead ($1.88 incl. tax). So where am I going wrong? I’m not a big spender. But still, I can’t seem to slice any more off my budget. So, these websites with all this budgeting advice, and secrets to saving money, are completely useless. The best money saving tips I get are from friends and acquaintances. All you people who write about money saving, come up with something new to say!

Leave a Reply

