Refuse to be Passive

Sweeney Todd

In Art on February 14, 2010 at 11:02 pm

I think that my subscription to the local theatre for the season was one of the best buys ever. And out of the five shows I’ve seen thus far, none has been better than the latest. On Friday evening I went to see Sweeney Todd. I’ve never seen Sweeney Todd. I think I watched the first twenty minutes of the movies with Jonny Depp, but was unenthused so found something else to do. I really didn’t know the story line going in, so all I knew was that it was about a barber who kills people and that they wind up in pies. But the music was fantastic. And the man who played Sweeney will forever be Sweeny for me. The music was fantastic– from the musicians to the singers, they were all top notch. The singing was well enunciated, allowing the audience to be easily transported into the world of Fleet Street. For those of you who have never seen Sweeney Todd, I’ll stop right there. But I will say this: it’s definitely worth seeing. Sweeney Todd is playing at the Citadel theatre until February 28th. Act now, before it’s gone!

Leave a Reply

