Refuse to be Passive

Do you trust tofu?

In Food on February 11, 2010 at 9:52 pm

Most people don’t trust Tofu. Somehow, over the years, it’s gotten a bad rap. Why? I have no idea. It was invented two thousand years ago in China, and the Western world seems to have issues embracing it. Up until a couple of years ago, I was one such skeptic. My trip to Japan did nothing to help assauge my distrust. But somewhere within the past few years, I’ve grown quite a liking for tofu. It is kind of a miracle food, with it’s many uses. Tofu is made from soy beans, so in some ways, it’s got much the same taste as soy milk (the plain stuff). The taste isn’t strong, and tofu is quite absorbant, which means it takes on the taste of the food around it. As a result, provided that you enjoy what you’re eating, you will also probably enjoy the tofu. While it is great in stir-frys, I have a couple of different uses for it as well. Firstly, I had a lovely crispy tofu in sweet chili sauce today for lunch from the restraunt across the street from work. It was completely delightful, and I wager will take a place above the lemongrass chicken and ginger beef when I place my next order. My sister and I also discovered a couple of years ago that I am slightly, and she more-so is lactose intolerant (I only have to avoid milk, and only in the mornings). Therefore, I created a delightful version of alfredo, using soft tofu instead of cream. The texture is almost exactly right, so then you just need good seasonings. Most people I feed this to can’t tell the difference. And apparently if you freeze firm tofu and then crumble it, it takes on the texture of ground beef, which makes it ideal for pasta sauces. That I have yet to try, but think it has promise. And the great thing about tofu is that it’s not meat. Don’t get me wrong, I like meat, but it uses considerably less energy to grow a pound of soy beans than a pound of beef. Also, in general North Americans have a meat intake that is much higher than is recommended. Thus, I aim to eliminate meat from at least one meal a day, replacing it with other proteins such as tofu or beans. It works pretty well, although I’ll admit that I’ve fallen out of the habit the past few months.
But after lunch today, I think I’ll be back at it. Have I mentioned it was delicious?

Leave a Reply

