Refuse to be Passive

Absolutely Brilliant

In Life in General on January 24, 2010 at 5:56 pm

So for the past three weeks I’ve been off TV and movies. That’s right. No TV. No movies. And you know what? It’s absolutely brilliant. I love it. I can’t remember why I ever watched TV, and as for the movies, well, there might be a slight inkling to watch one of those every once in a while, but really, it’s barely even a yearn. Why would we want to face hours in front of a screen when there is so much life to be lived? And real life is ultimately more interesting than TV, because you effect the outcome.

The other thing I’m noticing in this is that an evening is actually quite a long time. Long enough for me to neaten the house, make dinner, read a bit of my book, do devotions, and usually run an errand or two if needs be. I never knew an evening had so much time in it! Needless to say, I’m loving this, and hope I never fall back into the trap of watching TV as a way to escape. There are much better things to do with my time. Like spend it with people! Or in recovery from spending it with people.

This is an amazing exercise to do, and I know some people have done it for years, even their whole lives. I never knew what I was missing out on! Absolutely brilliant.

Leave a Reply

