Refuse to be Passive

Back to Black

In Food, Life in General on January 21, 2010 at 10:19 am

For months I drank coffee, a couple of cups each day. I drank it dark and black. At first, the bitter taste put me off, but as time went on, I came to appreciate the inherint beauty of a black coffee, the dulcet undertones it could have, floral, chocolate, fruitty. And then, about two weeks ago, I stopped. The look of coffee just turned my stomach and it was the last thing I wanted to drink. I started drinking hot water again, and London Fogs, or double spice Chai. But this morning I came in to work and discovered to my chagrin that the Early Grey for my London Fogs was gone, and that double spice Chai held no appeal. I found myself wanting something darker, and so I brewed a pot of coffee. After being off coffee for a couple of weeks, the first sip was a jolt. Not in caffine, but in taste. Do I really like black coffee? I’m sure I do, but right now, my tastebuds just aren’t agreeing. I took a second sip, and then a third. My tongue began to remember the bitter brilliance of black coffee. And now, I’m happily sipping my way through a cup, and wondering how long it will be until I agian swing in the direction of tea.

Leave a Reply

