Refuse to be Passive

Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, and Everything in Between (which includes today)

In Uncategorized on December 27, 2009 at 5:39 pm

I hope that this post finds everyone well, that you’ve enjoyed celebrating Christmas and are now looking forward to New Year’s. How was my Christmas? Well, thanks for asking! It was most excelent we had some family friends over and squished twelve of us into my parents fairly tiny dining room. Very cozy, and filled with happy laughter, great food, fantastic discussions…everything you hope for in a Christmas dinner, except for my Mom’s stuffing as we focused on paring down this year. Every year we have a plethora of food, platters practically spilling off the table, the sideboard also stuffed to capacity. So this year, no stuffing, no salad, no buns. All of which are just fillers, lets face it. And we still had too much food. But what good food it was! Succulant turkey, brown sugared ham, almond topped brussel sprouts, mashed potatoes, turkey gravy, jello salad shaped like candy canes (I must admit I passed on that), applesauce, cranberry jelly, multiple bottling of wine and sparkling juice for those whose decerning palates proclaim wine disgusting.

The evening was filled with conversation and little kids running around (there were two), a game of Mexican Train, Catan, and the ever popular game with my parents and their friends, Canasta. A game so popular that I’ve only ever played once or twice, as everyone else is the first to jump on the Canasta band wagon. It’s a fun game though, and unlike Bridge, doesn’t take years of practice to perfect.

So a lovely day had by all. Sadly, for my parents, now two days later, not so lovely as both of them have come down with some sort of bug and and quite sick. I seem to have been spared this pain, which I am thankful for, although feel sad that my parents need to spend part of their holidays like this. So my prayers are with them, and also, I must admit, with me, that I won’t get whatever they have. Hopefully they will be over it soon though, and we will be back to happy celebrations!

Leave a Reply

