Refuse to be Passive

Public Transit

In Uncategorized on December 23, 2009 at 10:23 am

This morning I woke up early to go swimming with my sister as I do every (okay, most), Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. Much to my chagrin, my car would not turn over, even though I’d had it plugged in over night. And it hadn’t been that cold either, -21 or so. A couple of weeks ago when it was -36, she started just fine. Now, this meant that I missed swimming, but had a delightful and leisurely extra hour and a half before I had to catch the bus.

There was a time not that long ago when I had no car and took the bus everywhere, and loved it. This morning, as I stood at the bus stop waiting for my ride, I took time to reflect on how lazy my car has made me. Everything comes so easily when you have your own mode of transportation. The bus rolled up and I got on, taking a seat across from the back doors and appreciating the immediate warmth. There was no need to wait for the car to warm up, or to freeze my fingers on the steering wheel. As the bus pulled away from the curb, I delighted in the fact that I didn’t have to worry about slippery roads, or what other drivers were doing. I could just sit back an relax. My ride to work was a peaceful one, and I enjoyed noticing the different types of people who ride the bus (although on this, the 23rd of December, commuters were relatively sparse). There were only four of us, spaced evenly throughout the bus, and we all sat in silence. It was nice. The only part of riding the bus I don’t enjoy is waiting outside when it’s flipping cold, that wasn’t so nice. But I do like public transit. There’s something wonderful about not needing to pay attention to the world around you, and lose yourself in a book as the bus rumbles down the road.

Leave a Reply

