Refuse to be Passive

It’s goona be so fun, cuz you’re turning….25. Wait that doesn’t rhyme!

In Uncategorized on December 17, 2009 at 12:38 pm

I turn 25 in two days, and I’m not sure why, but it bothers me slightly. Some years I look forward to turning another year older, but for me 24 has been pretty grand. I’ve had a good job, great coworkers, and had the opportunity to make new friends and re-connect with some old ones. My family has been there for me, and I for them. I now have a nephew whom I love to bits. One of my best friends moved back from Montreal to Edmonton, and I’m loving getting to spend time with her again. My co-worker and I bought season’s tickets to the theatre for the first time. I visited Fort Edmonton Park, joined a volleyball league, became the Youth Leader at my church. It’s been a most excellent year. I guess part of the reason I don’t want to turn 25, is that I’m not sure it can be any better than 24. That, and 25 firmly establishes me as an adult. I can no longer pretend that I’m in my low-twenties. I’m officially half way to thirty.
But I already know that there will be blessings in my twenty-fifth year, even if that’s only shown by the seven people showing up for breakfast at Smitty’s with me on Saturday morning. But I look forward to many parts of 25, from going home for Christmas, to travelling to places I’ve never been, to getting to develop new skills and embrace new possibilities. And then, of course, there is my faith, which I wouldn’t get through a day without. God will be with me every step of the way through 25, just as He has been through 24. I will have the opportunity to get to know Him better, embrace His very essence, and live out my life in a way that people around me want the joy I have. But I would not have this joy without Christ. He is my reason for being, my reason for hope. My 25th year will allow me to serve him, and grow to recognize more and more the gracious gift He gave me through his death on the cross and resurrection three days later. 25 will indeed be a good year, from the expect to the unknown, I welcome it all with open arms, and pray for God’s guidance as I move into another year.

Leave a Reply

