Refuse to be Passive

Cinnamon Raisin Bread and Arm-Chair Jesus

In Food, Life in General on November 22, 2009 at 4:31 pm

The smell of cinnamon raisin bread wafts through my house as I type this post. I always find I like my homemade bread more than store bought, yet I make it so rarely. Most of this is due to the fact that it takes a few hours to make, and I rarely have that kind of foresight. I just got off the phone with my mother, who I must confess I don’t call nearly as often as I should. We always have the best conversations regarding life and faith. Our brains work along the same lines, those of a medium-intellectual. Now, you always thought that people are either intellectuals or they’re not. It’s simply not that clear cut. There are ones that are very abstract intellectuals, and others that lean more towards a practical intellectualism, and then there are combinations of both. My mother and I fall in the practical intellectual categories. We enjoy things that we can apply to our lives, rahter than concepts meant purely for debate. So after we updated each other about what was going on in our lives, I told her about a series of magazine articles I just read about how people have adapted God and Jesus into something that fits their lifestyle. From Eco-Jesus to Nice-Guy Jesus, to Arm-Chair Jesus. There were 24 “types” covered in all, and some of them seemed clearly off the mark, and others seemed bang on. One of the things my mom commented on was that God(and Jesus) can fit multiple “types” and that one “type” does not have to exclude all others. God is multi-faceted. How true it is. As humans, this shouldn’t strike us as odd, are we not also multi-faceted? And if we are made in the image of God, then that makes sense. The danger becomes when the god we worship is not the God of the Bible. When we pick and choose which parts of God we want, then we run into trouble. By picking which parts we want, it doesn’t change who God actually is. Bascially, we’re digging a hole for ourselves by deciding who God is, in essence we create a new god, that is easier to follow that the one true God. Have I mentioned that that doesn’t actually change who the one true God is? So maybe we’d beter focus on following Him, rather than our own watered down versions. Time to go check on that bread.

Leave a Reply

