Refuse to be Passive

CBC Radio One

In Art, Life in General on November 13, 2009 at 11:20 am

Last week Friday, my friend Jen scored us some tickets to go to a live taping of CBC Radio One’s GO! It was probably one of the coolest things I’ve ever done in Edmonton. I don’t know how she does it, but Jen always seems to be in the right place at the right time. Good thing we’re friends. Anyway, the theme of the show was “The Great Canadian Family” (or something like that) and my initial thought was, “This is going to be really boring.” But I was so wrong! It was fun! There were trivia questions and it was set up like a game show testing their knowledge of the CBC. And then there was the live music, and the great humour of the host. What fun!

So, for the past week, I’ve been listening to CBC Radio One every time I’m in the car. From news to entertainment, this station has it all! And it’s not just focused on the top 40, which is something I really appreciate. They showcase a lot of local talent, and there is a lot of local talent. I used to think that CBC was a old people’s radio station. Thank Jen, for proving me wrong. I think I’ve got a new favourite. I’m being indoctinated into this community.

Leave a Reply

