Refuse to be Passive

A Family Visit

In Life in General on November 7, 2009 at 11:19 pm

It’s dark outside and the house is quiet. This evening my parents came to see my place for the first time. My sister and brother-in-law came too. I made a steak dinner, quite the feat as I have no clue about cooking steak. But even more impressive was that the steak was very good! After dinner, my father helped me put back together a few chairs that I’d been working on re-upholstering (with some outside help), and then we all kind of lounged around in my living room.

I think I have the best family ever. While the chatting was happening, my brother-in-law pulled Thomas King’s Medicine River off my bookshelf and began reading the first chapter, as we were discussing something that wasn’t all that interesting to him. My father noticed a Vinyl Cafe book, and picked that up. He’s always been a Stewart Mclean fan (as am I). My sister, mom, and I began talking books and I suggested a new one for my mother to read. So, she picked it up off my bookshelf, flipped it open, and began reading an excerpt out loud. Three of the five of us had books open, and even my sister and I were discussing books. It was almost like a giant bookclub. And how odd is it that we only see each other a few times a year, and when we do, one of the things we do is all grab a book? I love it. I love coming from this family, a family that thinks reading is not only important, but vital. There was some great conversation, but at the end of the evening, everyone came away with a new book that they wanted to read. What a beautiful thing.

And now, I’m off to read The English Patient.

Leave a Reply

