Refuse to be Passive

In the Wrong Field

In Food, Life in General on November 6, 2009 at 11:39 am

I think I’m working in the wrong field. This morning my boss and I were gushing over new found tapas recipies and commenting on the kitchen gadgets we found indispensable, as well as the ones that are totally useless. I love cooking, and I will admit that since I moved to my new place, with a less than stellar kitchen setup, I do it much less often. It may also have to do with the fact that my schedule has become increasingly busy between volleyball, swimming, youth group, work, theatre, and the rest of the stuff I find myself involved in. Or maybe it’s just because I’m living on my own now and don’t enjoy cooking for one.

Anyway, we were gushing over recipes and what cookbooks we found worthwhile and I started wondering why the heck I wasn’t spending time in the kitchen anymore (I know, I already answered that question above). But seriously, some of the greatest joys in life come for me when I’m in the kitchen, knife in hand, fresh produce surrounding me. I need to get back to that. Now, my lack of time in the kitchen has had one bonus effect, I’ve lost a bit of weight. So now, all I have to do is figure out how to spend time in the kitchen without adding to my waistline. I know, portion control and healthy options. But where’s the fun in that?

I thought about ending my post right here, but then something that’s been niggling in the back of my mind came to the forefront. Healthier options are not optional, they’re mandetory. They can be delicious, but they should be healthy. Everything we put into our mouths effects us, from giving us energy to making us sluggish. But beyond that, it effects our body, which we only get one of. Food can hinder or help, and we need to chose the latter. It’s often easy to ignore that what we eat influences us in the long run. That is, until we have majoy health problems that we face. I love Cheetos, and pizza, and mochas, but what are they doing to me? The damage done in your twenties follows you through the rest of your life. It’s time for me to re-examine my eating habits and make the change to eating right. The thing is, this change won’t stick if I do it out of guilt or regret. It has to be something I want to do. And I have to remember, that healthy eating doesn’t mean a lack of taste, it just means healthy eating.

Leave a Reply

