Refuse to be Passive

A Perfect Afternoon

In Art, Food, Life in General on October 26, 2009 at 8:44 pm

The other day I headed down to Whyte Ave for the afternoon. The weather, while not warm, lacked the bite it’s had for the past few weeks. I did a bit of shopping, picked up a birthday card, bought some art supplies and headed over to Cafe Debar for a stellar mocha and wireless internet access. After I spent a bit surfing the web for simple office pranks (I’ve got some gooders) and checking my e-mail, I shut down my laptop and got out my sketch pad. I hadn’t drawn anything since university, so my skills were more than a little rusty. But it was nice to just be able to draw, and to have my sketches come out as decently recognizable. One of the things I love about Debar, besides their free wi-fi with purchase, is that the staff there are always friendly, giving great service, and will let you sit and do your thing without bothering you. The ambience is good, and the music is usually decent, albiet a bit loud if you’re trying to concentrate on a book or some such thing. But a lovely day, and a great afternoon.

Cafe DebarAt Debar

Leave a Reply

