Refuse to be Passive

There’s Something About…

In Food, Life in General on October 25, 2009 at 2:47 pm

There’s something about food that brings people together. Once a month my church has a meal for the congregation and all the university students that attend. During that time I always wind up talking to people I don’t ever talk to. I do love the people in my church though, as these people are all about getting to know you. Everyone talks with everyone, and it’s all about being a cohesive unit. We had another one of these meals today, mostly dutch meatball soup (yummy!) and buns. The fellowship was great, but I was also supremely impressed with how everyone helped with clean-up, not just a couple of people. And the people are open and real– and super nice.

It was the hospitality of these people that a year and a half ago convinced me to come back for a second Sunday, even though their young adults contingency was almost non-existant. And now, a year and a half later, I have come to love these people so much, and their hospitality and kindness have never ceased to amaze me. It’s one of the brilliant things about attending a small church, everyone cares about and upholds everyone else. It’s pretty amazing. I am completely blessed by my church community (and the food doesn’t hurt either).

Leave a Reply

