Refuse to be Passive

Writing Again

In Uncategorized on October 17, 2009 at 11:28 pm

I am writing again after a long, unintended break. I just didn’t feel like writing for a long time, and now I’m getting back into it again. For me, when writing fiction, one of the hardest things is finishing a story. I’m great at starting them, but to pound through to the end can be a bit of a challenge, be it eight pages or eighty. The piece I’m working on right now may become a novella, not quite a novel, but not a short story either. If I can get it done, I’ll be thoroughly pleased. I’ve got lots of foder to work with, so I’m not worried on that front. Although I’ve often discovered that characters can have personalities you didn’t know they’d have when they started writing. You can start with intentions, but often characters develop on their own. It’s kind of odd, as you’d think an author would control their characters, but unless you’re writing a biography or something of the sort, it’s often not true. The key to finishing this story will be writing everyday and turning it into a habit. Even when I hit a wall, which I undoubtedly will, I’ll have to keep going. Getting to the end of the first draft is half the battle, and if practice makes perfect, then I’m working towards perfection.

Leave a Reply

