Refuse to be Passive

Awkward

In Uncategorized on October 16, 2009 at 12:56 pm

So, my friend from Ontario has been in Edmonton for the past couple days, but we just couldn’t find a time to hang out. So, and hour and a half before his bus leaves for Calgary, he dropped by with a few other people from my Ontario days. I really appreciated it, but it was kind of awkward. We only had ten minutes or so to talk, and what can you talk about in ten minutes? That, and I only knew two out of the four visitors decently well, so that was also awkward. And while I found myself floundering for things to say, I began to wonder what I had in common with these people originally, the one in particular, who during my Ontario days was one of my best friends. I was chatting with a co-worker about the awkward factor, and he looked at me like I was nuts. So I asked him if he’d ever experienced something like that. He said no. Hmm…apparently the past effects people differently. And I mentioned that now that our lives had gone different directions, we seemed to have very little in common. Then my co-worker asked me why we’d been friends in the first place. That I had to think on, and am, in all honesty, still thinking on. We met randomly in the foyer of the university one day when I was reading a text and he was waiting for his class to start. I know there are a few commonalities, such as appreciation for stout, coffee, and art…but beyond that, I’m not sure why we became friends. It must  have just been a decision we made. I think he was new to the school and didn’t have many friends yet (in later years he would become very popular, and our friendship would be on the back burner). But I have so many good memories that involve him, but I don’t know why. Have you ever had friends that you just clicked with, even though you had very little in common? Have you ever had friends who you meet up with years later and find yourself searching for something to say? It’s kind of confusing and frustrating. Oie. Let the past stay in the past.

  1. What is also uncool is when you somehow transition back into awkward with a friend with no lapse in contact.

Leave a Reply

